SFAD Achievers

Emma Lourdes Mones, MAFAD (Master of Arts in Fine Arts and Design) 2015 graduate, will present her paper, A Study on the Use of Gender Stereotyping in Advertising, during the Third International Conference on Asian Studies at the University of Japan, Niigata Prefecture on June 20-21, 2015.

Mervy Pueblo, School of Fine Arts and Design (SFAD) Faculty has been selected as one of the recipients of the 2015 CCP Thirteen Artists Awards (TAA). The formal awarding will be held during the opening of exhibit featuring the new works of the 2015 awardees, on September 3, 2015 at the Bulawagang Juan Luna (Main Gallery), Cultural Center of the Philipines.

According to the CCP news release, the THIRTEEN ARTISTS AWARDS (TAA) began as a curatorial project of the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) Museum under the directorship of its first curator Roberto Chabet (1937-2013). The first group of artists gathered under this program exhibited their works in 1970. In a document on the event, Chabet made a critical connection between the Thirteen Artists and the Philippine Modernists. Both generations of artists were viewed to have sought in their time the chance and risk to “restructure, re-strengthen and renew art making and art thinking...that lend viability to Philippine art”. Since then, the award would be given to deserving recipients without regularity or pattern, and always subject to constant revision. This partly explains the interesting texture of the roster.

It is in this context that the Thirteen Artists Awards is sustained to this day: to mark the turnings in and of Philippine contemporary art, to update its modernizing potential and to assess how artists today engage with other forces in the art world.

In 2009, the CCP Thirteen Artists Awards was established as a triennial event. What has characterized the work of the awardees, then and now, is a fresh visual language, innovative solutions to artistic problems, and sustained creative output.

Read more about other Achievers

Related Stories